Who Has Hit the Longest Six in IPL history?

A massive six by Punjab Kings’ Liam Livingstone in the PBKS vs. GT game of the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2022 has reignited the question of who has hit the longest six in IPL history. But the answer to this question remains the same – former Chennai Super Kings all-rounder Albie Morkel.

Longest Six in IPL history

Table of Contents

Morkel, who played for Chennai Super Kings in the first season of the IPL, achieved this by hitting a six against Deccan Chargers spinner Pragyan Ojha, which was measured at a staggering 125 meters. This remains the longest six-hit in the IPL to date.

Since the IPL started, 8,896 sixes have been hit. The Mumbai Indians have hit the most sixes, with 1,232. The Royal Challengers Bangalore is next, with 1,196, and Kings XI Punjab is third, with 1,073.

Hitting a ball out of the stadium is always a thrilling moment for fans, and the record for hitting the longest six in IPL history is indeed an impressive feat.

Longest Six in IPL History

Sno YearPlayer Name Team Name Distance (in meters)
12008Albie MorkelChennai Super Kings125
22013Praveen KumarKings XI Punjab124
32011Adam GilchristKings XI Punjab122
42010Robin UthappaRoyal Challengers Bangalore120
52013Chris GayleRoyal Challengers Bangalore119
62009Yuvraj SinghKings XI Punjab119
72008Ross TaylorRoyal Challengers Bangalore119
82016Ben CuttingSunrisers Hyderabad117
92013Gautam GambhirKolkata Knight Riders117
102009MS DhoniChennai Super Kings115

1. Albie Morkel – 125 metres Longest Six

Albie Morkel – 125 metres Longest

In 2008, Albie Morkel was an explosive batsman known for his ability to hit the ball with incredible power. During a match between Chennai Super Kings and Deccan Chargers, Morkel stepped to the crease when his team struggled at 97/6 in the 17th over. Pragyan Ojha, the unfortunate bowler, delivered a gentle and loopy ball that landed perfectly in Morkel’s slot.

The South African took advantage of the opportunity and got on one knee, smashing the ball over the deep midwicket. The ball soared out of sight and eventually landed on the roof of the MA Chidambaram stadium, measuring an astounding 125 meters! This remains the longest six in the history of IPL.

2. Praveen Kumar – 124 meters Longest Six

When we think of big-hitting batsmen, the name of Praveen Kumar who played cricket for India does not come to mind. However, during a match between Royal Challengers Bangalore and Rajasthan Royals in the 2012 season of IPL, he surprised everybody with a huge six that traveled an astonishing 124 meters. The match was being played at the M Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bangalore, and Kumar came to bat at number eight when his team was in a tough spot. Australian paceman Shaun Tait bowled a short ball that was asking to be hit.

Kumar took a big swing at the ball and connected it perfectly, sending it sailing over deep midwicket. The ball continued to rise and eventually landed on the roof of the stadium, measuring an incredible 124 meters. This six by Praveen Kumar is one of the longest in the history of IPL and remains etched in the memories of cricket fans worldwide. Even though Kumar wasn’t known for his big smashes, he was outstanding on the cricket pitch.

3. Adam Gilchrist – 122 meters Longest Six

Adam Gilchrist, an Australian cricketer, is no new to hitting big sixes, so it makes sense that his name is on this list. Playing for Kings XI Punjab in 2011, he faced South African pacer Charl Langeveldt. Gilchrist had already gotten his eye in and was on one of his rampages when Langeveldt bowled a slower delivery. The ball was in Gilchrist’s arc, and he wasted no time in dismissing it out of his sight. The ball soared to the top tier of Dharamsala stadium, measured at a massive 122 meters. This is considered one of the longest sixes in the IPL history.

4. Robin Uthappa – 120 meter Longest Six

Robin Uthappa, the dynamic Indian batsman, is known for his explosive strokeplay and ability to clear the boundary ropes. During the 2010 edition of IPL, playing for the Royal Challengers Bangalore, Uthappa hit a monster six that traveled a massive distance of 120 meters. It was a match against the Mumbai Indians, and Uthappa came to the crease in the 13th over with his team needing a big push in the latter half of the innings. The bowler on this occasion was Munaf Patel, who bowled a full delivery outside off stump.

Uthappa got under the ball and powered it with all his might, sending it soaring over the long-off boundary. The ball continued to travel and eventually landed on the roof of the Wankhede Stadium, measuring a colossal 120 meters. This six by Robin Uthappa is one of the longest in the history of IPL and showcased his exceptional hitting abilities. Uthappa has always been a crowd-pleaser, and these six undoubtedly left the fans in astonishment.

5. Chris Gayle – 119 meters Longest Six

Chris Gayle 119 meters Longest

Chris Gayle, the burly Jamaican, is a name that is synonymous with big sixes. He holds the record for hitting the most number of sixes in IPL, with a total of 349. During a match in the 2013 season against Pune Warriors India, Gayle smashed 17 sixes and scored 175 off just 66 balls, the highest score in IPL history. One of his sixes during this innings traveled a remarkable 119 meters. Left-arm spinner Ali Murtaza made the mistake of pitching the ball up to Gayle, who took full advantage and smashed it over deep midwicket. This is one of the longest sixes ever recorded in IPL history.


The Indian Premier League has witnessed some incredible hitting over the years, and the longest sixes have been a sight to behold. Chris Gayle, Albie Morkel, MS Dhoni, AB de Villiers, and Praveen Kumar have all hit massive sixes that will be remembered for years to come.

ALSO Read: Which Bowler Holds Most Dot Balls Record In IPL History?

Leave a Comment